Deep Sea Fishing and a Good Friend

So at the conference, about 20 of us went deep sea fishing. Scott and I were up at 5:15am. I didn’t want to get sick so I didn’t have breakfast and I took some Dramamine. We headed out to sea ready to catch some great fish.

Everything was going great. I was having great conversations with other youth pastors, we got our poles ready to fish. Then, somewhere deep in my stomach it started to feel a little weird.

Turns out I didn’t even get a cast in. I started throwing up. I was hugging the railing of the boat with all my might as I began heaving with all my guts. It’s then when I started praying, realizing I had just made a four hour mistake.

It’s a crazy thought knowing that no matter what, I’m trapped on a boat of torture for the next four hours. I just prayed that God would knock me out or something so I could return to my soft bed that I had left so early that morning.

I was reading in a book about the different positions people use during prayer. I think I used many of them. I was down on one knee, then two knees, then back up again, prostrate on the ground, then into a fetal position. It was so cold. I began shivering. Not just teeth shattering shivering, but entire body convulsion shivering. I hurled so much every muscle in my body hurt including my ears and eyes. I couldn’t even call Heather cause I was afraid I’d lose my phone in the ocean while I’m holding on to that rail with all my might.

During my pain, what was really cool was that Scott was right there to give me napkins and toilet paper to wipe my snot covered face. He even went in the girls bathroom to grab more stuff for me. It’s amazing having a good friend there for you when you’re down.

So I’m puking and Scott’s fishing right next to me and hooks a fish. The guy goes, “Hang on, that’s gonna be a big one.” Scott pulls in a huge halibut! He was the only guy on the whole trip to catch a fish. I’m so glad he was the one to catch something that day.

Well, four horrendous hours later, we made it back to land. After a good meal, hot bath, and sleeping all night I returned to the land of the living. But now, my whole stomach, chest, and neck hurt when I bend over, cough, or even laugh. It’s crazy. In addition to that, my eyes are completely bloodshot because of the pushing of every muscle in my body.

From now on, I’m sticking to freshwater fishing. I should have done the spa session with my wife. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do next time.

~ by darthpastor on February 23, 2007.

5 Responses to “Deep Sea Fishing and a Good Friend”

  1. Thank for making this valuable information available to the public.

  2. Great blog, good job getting it all together 🙂

  3. Thanks for the kind words. I’m just hoping I don’t go on another painful trip like that one.

  4. ford chicago

  5. […] vomiting, diarrhea, aches.  And it went on for four days.  I remember having flashbacks of this.  It was crazy.  The whole time my new guitar was sitting on the stand in the living room begging […]

Leave a Reply

 
