Jr. High Service

This last weekend I got to lead the Jr. High Verb Ministries services. Let me say a few things about what Scott and Amy are doing with the Jr. High students at Parkcrest.

  • An all Jr. High Worship Band! This week was the Jr. High Band’s first week to play worship. An all JH band (no adults)!!! They did a great job and I can’t wait to see them all grow. Kudos to Scott and Josie for all the time they spent with them. They are raising up a generation of worshipers.
  • 3 services is ROUGH! I don’t know how Scott and Amy do it week in and week out. I went home wiped out (and then I had to do HSM that night.) They work HARD and are doing a great job with it.
  • Jr. High Students are honest: I asked, “Would you rather have Mother’s Day all the time or Father’s day all the time. One answer was, “Well, Mother’s day always turns into Mother’s weekend.” The other, “Mother’s day cause I’ve never met my dad and he doesn’t care about me.”
  • There are hurting students everywhere: I got to speak with one student and his aunt after service. He was going through a very rough patch. I could feel the anger in him and knew that he just wanted to be loved and cared for. Mother’s day was particularly sensitive to him because of his family relationships. I can’t help but think of the many other students who are hurting because of families. We got a lot of work to do and Scott & Amy are on the front lines.

If you get a chance to sit in on a Jr. High Service at Parkcrest, you will know what kind of love and dedication it takes to be in Jr. High Ministry. Thank You Scott and Amy! I only hope you are still doing it when my kids are Jr. High age.

~ by darthpastor on May 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
