Pole Vaulting Over Mouse Manure

That’s what I once heard a guy call it when it came to the debate the Armenian and Calvinist schools of thought. It’s like as humans we’re so looking at question of how did God do it when we should just be thankful that He did it and that’s the end of it.

Instead we waste countless hours debating and arguing over this or that. And we can’t work with those guys over there because they don’t believe exactly what we believe even though they are Christians as well.

More than theology differences, what rubs me the wrong way is arrogance. I can agree with someone whole heartedly theologically but if they’re arrogant, I can’t stand to be around them. Then they look at me as lazy because they think that I’m not thinking my theology through.

Don Francisco wrote a song years ago about the gospel account of blind man who was healed by Jesus and then questioned by the Pharisees. He replied to the Pharisees. “I have no idea how He did it. I just know what happened to me. Yesterday I was in darkness. And since I met Him I can see.”

To be honest, I don’t know how He found me. But I once was blind and now I see. You can explain both sides of it (He chose me, I chose Him, we both chose each other). But still, no matter how you got here, you’re clean.

Why do we make such a big deal over something so little? Why would we ever pole vault over mouse manure?

~ by darthpastor on November 20, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
