Guitar Dreaming Update Update

Got to play Ryan’s Epiphone Dot last weekend for Overdrive and HSM. It was awesome playing with everyone. I had a great time and hope to do it again if they let me.

So I’ve been narrowing down my Telecaster hopefuls and amp hopefuls.

So let’s take a look at the guitars first in order of what I like best so far…

Lite Ash Tele

  • Birdseye Maple Fretboard w/abalone inlays
  • Nashville Color
  • Seymour Duncan: APTR-1 Alnico II Pro (neck), APTL-1 Alnico II Pro (bridge)
  • Great tone, look, and feel
  • Brass saddles on the bridge.  Perhaps someday I’d upgrade it to an acoustic fishman bridge

Nashville Power Tele

  • Acoustic Pickup w/Fishman bridge that is a better bridge in general
  • Three Pickups giving the strat sound
  • -no maple fretboard, I’d have to settle for rosewood
  • -no natural color, I’d have to settle for sunburst

Nashville Tele

  • Maple Neck
  • Three Pickups Strat Style
  • No natural so have to settle for the sunburst

So far I’m leaning for the Lite Ash.  I love the neck on it and the upgrade in pickups is tone booster that would be great.

And for the amps…

Fender Blues Jr. NOS Lacquer Tweed Guitar Combo

  • Tube Amp
  • 15 Watts
  • Love the Brown Tweed Color

Fender Blues Junior Combo Amp 

  • Same as above I think but cheaper

Fender Pro Junior Combo Amp

  • All Tube
  • Only Volume an tone 😦
  • 15 Watts

I’ve also been recommended a Vox by Scott but it’s a little pricey.  But I definitely want to stay small and go with a tube.  It would be nice to have an overdrive channel but that won’t matter if I get some pedals.

~ by darthpastor on December 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
