Salvation in the Everyday

“Why is it that we look upon our salvation as a moment that began our religious life instead of the daily life we receive from God?  We’re encouraged somehow today to remove the essence of faith from the particulars of daily human life and relocate it in special times, places, and states of mind.”   -Dallas Willard

Crazy quote.  Removing faith from daily life.  I admit, I’ve done it.  I’ve separated my own life into secular and spiritual.  Especially when I was younger, there was the whole argument between “Christian” and “Secular” music.  Have we come to far as to remove God from His creation?  Have we, by the way we label things robbed others of seeing God in the normal?  In the ordinary?  In the day to day life that we live?

Are everyday decisions such as what you want to eat for dinner a spiritual decision?  I don’t think it’s a “right or wrong” issue but I believe the attitude and way of how I choose what to have for dinner is a spiritual decision.  I know when I’m grateful for what God has given us and I know when I’m taking it for granted.

Living on faith has been an interesting journey for me as of late.  I’m finding that I’m having to consult God more often on what used to be casual decisions.  This is good.  In fact, it’s become bizarrely peaceful.  I’ve made some decisions lately that people would think are completely crazy.  And I admit, I am afraid a bit.  But I also have this strange peace that God will take care of things.

At times I get caught up in the worries of today.  And then I find God pulling me closer in the everyday things, the ordinary circumstances where I take a breath and find God.  It’s in those times when I see salvation in the everyday.

I like those times.  I crave those times.  I need those times.

~ by darthpastor on January 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
