My Strengths

I took this test from Tom Rath’s book months ago and for some reason I haven’t posted much on it.  I posed my personality test and so I thought I’d post my strengths as well.

So my top five are…Strategic, Connectedness, Includer, Idation, and Belief. That’s why I’m always thinking about what has to happen next and trying to include everyone in on the conversation. I also love good ideas and have some pretty strong convictions that govern my life.

Here’s a brief description of each one:

Strategic: People who are especially talented in the Strategic theme create alternative ways to proceed. Faced with any given scenario, they can quickly spot the relevant patterns and issues.

Connectedness: People who are especially talented in the Connectedness theme have faith in the links between all things. They believe there are few coincidences and that almost every event has a reason.

Includer: People who are especially talented in the Includer theme are accepting of others. They show awareness of those who feel left out, and make an effort to include them.

Ideation:  People who are especially talented in the Ideation theme are fascinated by ideas. They are able to find connections between seemingly disparate phenomena.

Belief: People who are especially talented in the Belief theme have certain core values that are unchanging.  Out of these values emerges a defined purpose for their life.

The basic premise of what Rath writes is that we will receive the most benefit from our efforts if we focus on what our strengths are.  I’m realizing that more and more within myself and who I am.  I know that when I’m using these strengths, I’m running at a higher level than if I’m struggling with my weaknesses.

What’s interesting as well is that he doesn’t tell you what your bottom weaknesses are because he wants you to focus on your strengths.

~ by darthpastor on January 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
