Shock is in Heaven Now

Well, Shock (Judah’s tortoise) passed away this last weekend. It was a real bummer. We had a funeral for him and buried him the garden. We didn’t really know how much we all were attached to him until he died. Heather and I both were down most of the weekend. River keeps asking about him. Judah cried his eyes out when we buried him.

Judah found a piece of wood and wrote Shock’s name on it and had me write “is now in heaven” on it. We placed it on top of where we buried him. We talked about how Shock was now up in heaven with Grandpa Lane and how He hoped Shock would hang out with Jesus a bit as well. I love the faith he has.

So a few days later we went out to water the garden. The block had been moved to another row. He took a look in the dirt and noticed that Shock’s body wasn’t there. “Shock is in heaven now!” He exclaimed. Heather and I looked at each other and thought, “OK, sounds good.”

Then Judah took the piece of wood and threw it away saying we don’t need that anymore. I quickly had Heather pick it up and I stashed it away. That’s a block of wood I’m going to keep for a long time.

We will miss you Shock. We’re going to wait till River is a little older before we get another pet 🙂

~ by darthpastor on July 1, 2008.

3 Responses to “Shock is in Heaven Now”

  1. I’ve always wondered if animals go to heaven. Don’t you have to have a spirit in order to go? Do animals have spirits? Native Americans believe everything has a spirit.

    Does the Bible talk about this?

  2. HI! It’s me, Corey! 🙂 glad to hear back from you. 🙂

    I’m sorry for your loss. 😦 losing a pet is hard. So far my daughter hasn’t had that yet. We did have a bunny run off or get eaten….but she wasn’t attached to it.

    I’m in Elkton quite a bit. my parents are still there….always will be. 🙂 I just was there for the fourth. 🙂

    You can check out my blog if you’d like. I am a bit of a photography nut these days.

    have a great week.

  3. im so excited like super excited and i wonder why ur waiting till rvier gets older hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

 
