Appreciate Some Prayer

This past weekend I received a call from my mother letting me know that a close cousin had committed suicide. He was one of those guys that you’d never think would have done such a thing. Needless to say, our family, especially my uncle are pretty devastated. When Heather and I both heard the news we were shocked. In her words, “the world is not a better place with him gone.”

We will be traveling up to Oregon sometime this week to spend time with family and mourn.

Ironically, this week we had on our Queue the film the “Bridge”. A documentary about people jumping off of the Golden Gate Bridge.

And I was also studying through the gospels reading about Judas’ suicide. At one point, Judas went to the religious leaders of the day repenting claiming he betrayed innocent blood. The leaders then dismissed him claiming it wasn’t their problem. The exact opposite of what God wants us to be doing with hurting people. I can’t help but think what would have happened to Judas if the people rallied around him and encouraged him to restoration. He could have been a great Christian leader.

Please pray for comfort with my family. Also for wisdom and grace to know how to deal with a tragedy such as this.

~ by darthpastor on July 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “Appreciate Some Prayer”

  1. I am extremely sorry for you loss Dustin. I’ll be thinking of your family.

  2. Sorry to hear about the situation, I’m sure you were able to be a blessing to your family in such a difficult time.

    We’re praying with you.

Leave a Reply

 
